Public Others Government Business Arts Community
Entertainment Lifestyle Services People Travel Internet Stuff



     FrontPage Edition: Sat 22 Apr 2006

Weather: Meteorological Service Singapore    High & Low Tides

Yesterday   2006   2005   2004   2003   2002   2001   2000   1999

General Election 2006 - Polling Day is 6 May 2006

Nomination Day will be on Thursday, 27 April 2006.
The Nomination Centres are as follows:
  Place of nomination (Nomination Centres)  Electoral Divisions
1. Admiralty Secondary School Nee Soon Central
  Woodlands Crescent Singapore 737916 Nee Soon East
2. Bedok View Secondary School East Coast
  Bedok South Avenue 3 Singapore 469293 Pasir Ris-Punggol
3. Bendemeer Primary School Jalan Besar
  Bendemeer Road Singapore 339948 Potong Pasir
    Tanjong Pagar
4. Bukit Panjang Government High School Chua Chu Kang
  Choa Chu Kang Avenue 4 Singapore 689809 Hong Kah
5. Fajar Secondary School Bukit Panjang
  Gangsa Road Singapore 678972 Holland-Bukit Timah
6. Jurong Junior College Jurong
  Corporation Road Singapore 649809 West Coast
7. Ngee Ann Secondary School Hougang
  Tampines Street 32 Singapore 529283 Tampines
8. Pei Chun Public School Aljunied
  Lorong 7 Toa Payoh Singapore 319320 Ang Mo Kio
    Bishan-Toa Payoh
    Yio Chu Kang
9. Tao Nan School Joo Chiat
  Marine Crescent Singapore 449761 MacPherson
    Marine Parade
For the General Election, the Prime Minister has appointed Mr Tan Boon Huat, Chief Executive Director of the People¨s Association as the Returning Officer.
The Returning Officer has declared that Saturday, 6 May 2006 is Polling Day. Polling Day is a public holiday.
According to the Parliamentary Elections Act, the deposit per candidate is 8% of the total allowances payable to an MP in the preceding year and rounded to the nearest $500.00. The deposit for a candidate shall, therefore, be $13,500.00.
The Parliamentary Elections (Malay Community Committee) Regulations, 1988 and the Parliamentary Elections (Indian and Other Minority Communities Committee) Regulations, 1988 stipulate that every applicant shall ensure his application for the Certificate of the Malay Community Committee or Certificate of the Indian and Other Minority Communities Committee under regulation 9 is received by the Committee not later than 2 clear days before the day of Nomination.
Nomination Day is 27 April 2006. Therefore, all applications must be submitted to the Elections Department, 11 Prinsep Link, Singapore 187949 not later than 6.00 pm on Monday, 24 April 2006.
Members of the Malay Community Committee are:

(1) Tuan Abu Bakar Maidin - (Chairman)

(2) Tuan Maarof Salleh

(3) Tuan Shafawi Ahmad

(4) Tuan Iskander Abdul Jalil

(5) Tuan Wan Hussin Zoohri

Members of the Indian and Other Minority Communities Committee are:

(1) Mr Gopinath Pillai - (Chairman)

(2) Mr Kaisavapany s/o Krishnasamy

(3) Mr Rudolph William Robert Mosbergen

(4) Mr Francis Joachim D¨Costa

(5) Mr Kirpal Ram Vij s/o Devi Dial

Every candidate shall submit, together with his nomination paper and other necessary documents, a Political Donation Certificate issued by the Registrar of Political Donations under section 18(4) of the Political Donations Act. Application for the Certificate shall be made by submitting, in person or through an authorised representative, a pre-election donation report (Form 3) and a pre-election declaration (Form 4) to the Registrar of Political Donations at his office at the Elections Department, 11 Prinsep Link, Singapore 187949 not later than 6.00 pm on 24 April 2006.
For further information, please visit the website of the Registry of Political Donations at


20 April 2006

Source: Singapore Government Statement 20 Apr 2006

Related Article:
- General Election 2006

Important Notice

Our FrontPage Editions are a historical record of our Web site and reflect the changing of the times, and also of our Web site through time. We do not and will not update the links and stories on these FrontPages even if they have become obsolete.


If you have an event or some news to share with our readers, send the details, including picture(s), to us at 

We are now 10505 pages thick and growing.

Public Holidays LABOUR DAY is the next public holiday. It falls on 1 May 2006.